Visit me at CONvergence 2017

Today I’ll be skipping the Monday Musings to talk about my week at CONvergence 2017 here in the Twin Cities. I’ll be there July 6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th. I’ll be moderating panels, talking to other con-goers, and asking people for pictures with their awesome cosplay. I have always wanted to make a comprehensive recap of the events I do with pictures and descriptions, but I tend to fall into this self-loathing trap that nobody cares about my experiences.

I blame this on my midwestern masochism.

If you haven’t been to CONvergence here in the Twin Cities, you’re missing an awesome experience. The cosplay is out of this world. The attendees are happy to talk about literally any subject no matter how obscure it is. I always think I know some cult movie, book, or anime. I always think I’m alone in my fandom. Not here. Everyone’s an expert.

Click here to be taken to the CONvergence homepage.

I’m doing a total of eight panels here at CONvergence. I’ll be moderating five of them, including one composed all of guests-of-honor. Here is where you consciously tell yourself not to be stupid or underprepared at the panel. Overall, I would like to think I’m like that for all panels, but with GOH’s you’re even more on your guard. Here is my complete schedule for the CONvergence 2017:

Thursday:

3:30 to 4:30 – Can Fandom Change the World – Panelist

7:00 to 8:00 – Geeky Spending – Moderator

11:30 pm to 12:30 – Current Affairs Affecting Comics – Moderator

Friday:

11:00 am – 12:00 pm Gravity in Fact and Fiction – Panelist

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm Creating the Perfect Monster – Moderator

Saturday:

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm – Beyond Creation: Diversity in Media – Moderator

5:00 pm – 6:00 pm – Asian Folklore 101 – Moderator

Sunday:

2:00 – 3:00 pm – Book to Movie – Panelist

So, if you’re in-town and attending the convention, feel free to comment on this post or send me an email at basementsaid@gmail.com about meeting up. I’ll have copies of books with me to sell. I’d be honored to sign them. I’ve got some new doodles I’ve been working on. If you want to hear about The Greenland Diaries, specifically the new book I have coming out in fall, I will be there to answer questions. Thank you everyone for the continued support. Hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

