Monday Musings 6/12

Finally finished The Greenland Diaries: Days 141 – 200. It took a little less than six weeks. It came out to be 300 pages. I was working on it so much I was dreaming about the characters and stories, which if you know anything about the series means I was having nightmares. Phew, talk about pushing myself. 50 pages a week is no joke with four kids.

  1. This is the first time I could write and finish a book without working a fulltime job. Because of this massive difference in time, I can tell I was able to spend more time on the book itself. I’m very lucky to be able to do this right now. I wouldn’t be able to if it weren’t from the support of my family and friends. Thank you so very much. I’m letting the book sort of stand for a week before I start revisions. I will want my eyes to be fresh when I start the process. This experience has taught me how valuable time is to people who want to create art.
  2. I have been binging on Arrested Development with my wife for the last week. She had never watched it, and they had announced a new season for next year. I love that show. The first few seasons are my favorite. I could honestly watch them on repeat for forever. Anything the Russo Brothers do I’m a fan of. Community is my favorite show ever. I refuse to watch the last episode because it makes me sad that I’ll have watched it all. Seasons 1 – 3 are amazing. Four should never have existed. Five is barely functional. Six is just okay.
  3. It has been an insane start to mosquito season here in Minnesota. We had a wet and rainy spring, so the blood-suckers have been out in full force. I live next to a forest so they tend to appear at all hours of the day. I’m going to have to spray for them, but I wanted to avoid it because I’m not fond of poisoning the earth. Having twin toddlers covered in bug bites squirming around at night is brutal. I found an all-natural spray, but who knows if it is as thus. Hopefully our backyard doesn’t start glowing green or spawn some radioactive mutant. I’ve got enough monsters in fiction.
  4. These next few weeks are a little stressful for me because I don’t have any events happening. Conventions, readings, fairs, they have hit this dead zone for me. This is usually how it goes in the creative world, so you must be good at managing your finances. I’m not. Being an entrepreneur makes you fiscally responsible. There are so many things you learn by starting your own business.
  5. This week in Craft Corner, I wanted to talk about letting a project stand. It is like when you crack open a bottle of wine. Let it sit for a little bit before you’re ready to try it. I just finished a novel, and I’m very excited about diving into the revisions, but I want to rest my narrative voice. It’ll give me a fresh look at the story. Now, some mediums benefit from this practice, and others because of their format do not. Stretching out your revision for a novel makes sense, since it is long there is more room for editing. For a short story or flash fiction, I would say if you give the spark too much time for revision, it might go out. You’ll lose the emotional resonance of the story. When you need to step away from a project, then acknowledge the time it takes to make it happen. Do not place an empty wasteland between you and the oasis.

Jottings:

-Can’t believe it is June already. Wow. Where does the time go? School’s out for my stepsons. I remember being really excited about it when I was kid. I also remember it eventually getting boring.

-Officially moving a television and video game system into my stepson’s bedroom. I remember when this happened for me. Either they’ll sink or swim with this opportunity. We’ll censor the games they can play, but you don’t want them to completely morph into cave creatures afraid of natural light.

-I’m accepting the fact that I will eventually have to travel to other states to sell my books. This sounds exciting, but also terrifying.

Sales of the Week: Currently, I still have four books on sale for a buck on the Kindle: Beware the Ills (my first novel and my favorite), The Greenland Diaries (my most popular story), Seven Monster (my first short stories I got the rights to), and DOL 39 (Kindle exclusive story that rivals The Greenland Diaries in creativity).  Also, I’ve updated my Patreon rewards.  Give it a look. Click HERE to visit my Patreon page. It is the best way to support me. You get free books too. Just saying…

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings 6/12

  1. Joe

    What’s the furthest you’ve ever traveled to sell your books, and how do you manage your expectations/disappointment if sales don’t go as you’d like for a specific event. I used to do radio in college hence the interview-y nature of my questions.

    Like

    1. I haven’t gone very far, though I am trying to remedy that situation. Sadly, disappointment is as unpredictable as success. If you put yourself in the situation to be successful, and you fail, you can still succeed by refining your product and how you present it. When I think of how many times I’ve failed, I can’t even conceive a number because it has been so much. Those failures have added to the evolution of my writing. They’re priceless. Lol. I hope that helps my friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

