Monday Musings 5/1

Often, I’m surrounded by strangers when I’m writing. I’m either at a coffee shop, a nearby Taco Bell, or a library. A whole variety of people appear in these places for multiple reasons. Job interviews, dates, or friends catching up over a cup of coffee. I can’t help but listen to their conversations. They worm into my writing.

  1. My book sale ends today. I’ve been selling my books for a very reasonable price through my online store. You can get two novels or short story collections for $25, plus free shipping and a gift. Today is the last day for it. It ends at midnight. If you’ve been reading my stories, essays and musings, now is the time to take a chance on my books. You won’t be disappointed. There is everything to choose from. Dark fantasy, apocalyptic horror, short stories of various genres, and more. Take advantage of this deal, because it goes bye very soon. Click here to be taken to my store.
  2. I don’t know why I didn’t discover it before, but I’ve been watching Friday Night Lights on Netflix. The show is very good. In fact, it is brilliant. I like the personal stories within each game, and how it is split into days. It does a perfect job showing how high school football is life for these small-town communities in Texas. I played high school football. I was terrible. I only played it to relate to my friends better, which by the very act of doing something you don’t want to do, just to get people to like you, well, it is likely doomed to failure. I have respect for the game due to my experience, and fascination with all the blood sports. This show does an excellent job showing how sports can transcend lifestyle.
  3. When I first left my job, and started writing fulltime, I didn’t plan for the financial difficulty that might ensue. I think the euphoria of finally embracing your dream fully no matter the consequences, blinded me to reality. Christmas was difficult, I ended up selling a bunch of my games that I grew up with, and which inspired me to write. I sold them to buy gifts for my family. I usually write in a Caribou Coffee right next to the Half Price books where I sold some of my possessions. When I get done writing in the morning, I walk over to look at the video games section of the bookstore, and look at all my childhood memories locked behind a glass case. I tell them to hold on for more success. I’ll come back for them.
  4. I feel like I should address the melancholy aura of this week’s musings. The truth is I’ve gotten a ton of support from my family and friends, and the writing community here in the Twin Cities, and I’m very lucky. However, the harshness of starting your own business, sacrificing a stable paycheck, and putting your family through an immense amount of financial pain, well, it gets to you eventually. You just sort of stare at it, like when a bad snowstorm hits and you just gaze outside the windows, marveling at the bleakness. I think this morning for me is sort of one of those things. I promise happier things next week.
  5. This week on craft corner, I wanted to talk about marketing you book or having an elevator pitch. When I’m at conventions, and I get a potential reader in front of me, I always have a sales pitch ready for each book I own. I’ve learned one thing tabling at these events. You need to be able to describe your entire novel and how it relates to you in a minute or less. Not just the plot and setting, but why the heck you wrote the thing as a human being. Not only does this give the potential reader information about what you’re writing, but it also makes them relate to you as a person. This might be difficult when you think about books with dense storylines and unreal environments, but you can still make it happen. This might be the greatest marketing tool you have as a writer.

Mindless self-promotion: Currently, I have four books on sale for a buck on the Kindle: Beware the Ills, The Greenland Diaries, Seven Monster, and DOL 39.  I’ve been publishing a lot of great fiction for free on here, which you can read anytime you want. Also, I’ve updated my Patreon rewards. You can even suggest story ideas as part of becoming a patron. Give it a look. If you like these stories on this blog, my books, and my messages, Patreon is the best way to support me. Take advantage of my 2 for $25 deal before it is too late. Free shipping and gift included. Visit my store for the deal. Have a great week.

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings 5/1

  1. #5 tip seems crucial. Harkens to the concept of the “elevator talk.” I’ll have to work on those one minute summaries for my stuff. Thanks!
    I admire your courage working full time on your writing. But I also know admiration doesn’t pay the bills … or bring back cherished games!

    Like

Leave a Reply

