Monday Musings 4/24

Well, spring is in full bloom here in Minnesota. The bleak is patiently switching to the green, like some sort of time lapse film from an old PBS documentary was playing all around us. Everyone seems happier and more upbeat now that the possibility of the storm of the century hitting us is diminishing every day. Also, we won’t be stalked by some strange warlock looking for a demon apprentice.

  1. Making solid progress on the third book in the Greenland Diaries. Usually in the afternoon I get a little time to work on it when I take my babies out for a nap drive. This book is challenging in that I don’t have to worry about establishing the universe as much since there are two other books to fall back on for context. I more so must worry about the plot moving forward at a good and rewarding speed, which isn’t hard with the apocalyptic setting of my series. I think one of the coolest things about the monsters in the Greenland Diaries is their ability to change and adapt. This makes them more human than anything, and the main character is constantly on his toes. (Don’t know what I’m talking about at all, check out the first ten days for free.)
  2. I recently watched the anime One Punch Man on Netflix and loved it. The story makes fun of every anime, superhero, and comic book trope imaginable. It is a satire more than anything. The show revolves around a character who is so amazing and strong, he is bored due to his greatness. He is a hero who fights monsters, but gets disheartened that he has no equal. He’s so good, it makes him depressed. The rest of the heroes around him fighting for the safety of earth are in awe of his power, and their seriousness about getting stronger looks outright whimsical against his strength. This show has great monsters as well. I highly recommend it.
  3. I’m honored to be attending CONvergence 2017 as an invited participant. This means I will be on a variety of panels over the four-day weekend of July 6th – 9th. There will be other details emerging about my role as the dates get closer. Right now, I’m just ecstatic to be given this opportunity, and am so very thankful. This is the biggest con here in Minnesota, so being a part of it is great for my writing and brand.
  4. Been playing my way through Dragon Quest VIII on my 2DS. The game is amazing, but it is hard. I have died a ton, like a ridiculous amount, and I’ve had to grind to beat just basic bosses. I’ve found myself wanting to trade it in, or return it due to the difficulty. When you’re an older gamer, sometimes you just want the experience of playing any game, and not to be challenged. It is almost like playing a bit of nostalgia. However, the more I’ve stuck it out, the more I have enjoyed it. The characters are designed by the creator of Dragonball and Chrono Trigger, which I both love. It was just released January, and there is a sequel coming next year. I’m glad I forced myself to take a chance.
  5. This week on craft corner I wanted to talk about the repetition of words in your fiction writing. When you’re writing a smaller story, like 1000 – 2000 words, you want to avoid repeating the same adjectives and nouns. This might be unavoidable, but you should try to follow this rule in your paragraphs at the very least. If you keep using the same words, well, they lose their potency. This is sort of a basic creative writing rule. In a novel, certain words become characters by themselves. Repetition through the chapters seems to work best when it has thematic intent. I find myself in the Greenland Diaries using the word green repeatedly, since the world has been warped by dense plants. However, since the story is written in first-person and he is constantly describing his surroundings, the use of the word green begins to match the eerie consistency of the drum, which is a distant sound each night that summons the monsters that hunt them. The constant use of the word green is supposed to emulate his emotional and psychological despair.

Mindless self-promotion: Currently, I have four books on sale for a buck on the Kindle: Beware the Ills, The Greenland Diaries, Seven Monster, and DOL 39.  I’ve been publishing a lot of great fiction for free on here, which you can read anytime you want. Also, I’ve updated my Patreon rewards. You can even suggest story ideas as part of becoming a patron. Give it a look. If you like these stories on this blog, my books, and my messages, Patreon is the best way to support me. Have a great week.

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings 4/24

  1. I agree that One Punch Man was great. Glad to hear about The Greenland Diaries progress. I think I may try to attend CONvergence. I’m absolutely loving the craft corner idea. The tips are great and I’m improving on my own writing as I learn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

