The Greenland Diaries

Once again, it is Friday, which means it is time for me to mindlessly promote a piece of my writing, crowdfunding, or appearances. I must admit, it took me some time to warm up to my evil capitalist side, which you sometimes need to expose your work. Whenever I write a blog post about my books and Patreon, I always imagine Emperor Palpatine whispering to me: “Good, good, let the hate flow through you.” It is a bit dramatic, but sometimes if you manipulate greed into ambition, well, you feel less guilty about sullying everyone’s newsfeed.

Writing is all I do for a living. Yeah, even seven months into this venture and that sentence still scares me a little bit. Not only do I want to help people with my writing, both in fiction and nonfiction, but I also want to provide for my family. Patreon has been an excellent resource for me. This is the best way to support me, and I have tons of awesome rewards. Normally, I’m mindlessly promoting that, but today I wanted to talk about my most popular piece of fiction.

The Greenland Diaries is that happy accident you can only discover if you get your work out there and not let it coagulate in your gray matter. I had no idea people would like it, or that it would be my most popular story. It started out as a daily blog on Blogspot over six years ago, which seems like several millennia. I was returning to college and I had forgotten how to write in past-tense. I started a journal called The Greenland Diaries on this blog. Diaries are a great way to practice writing from previous experiences and making them coherent. The style lends itself to this tense. I knew I had to write about something I found entertaining, so I went with the apocalyptic setting and faceless monsters.

You can get the first Greenland Diaries book on Kindle for just a buck.

You can also read the first 10 days for free.

If you need the sequel on Kindle (The Greenland Diaries: Days 141 – 200) please click here.

At first, nobody read it. My family would click on it, so would my friends through Facebook out of pity. After each week of writing this nearly every single day, I would have seven or eight views. I kept doing it. I kept making the story. I poured everything I had into it. I was scared about going back to college because I had been away from it for so long. Writing changes. It evolves like everything else, and it had been four years since I had been in the thick of it. I knew I would be on the outside looking in.

I kept writing The Greenland Diaries. The views started to increase. I kept sharing it on random spots. After one year of doing this I was able accumulate over 30,000 views. Many people were reading my story. I decided to self-publish it. This was the perfect project for self-publication. I wasn’t trying to compete with a traditional publisher or anything. I was simply putting a raw story out there, which I hoped would augment the point-of-view of the narrator surviving in a hazardous environment. People responded to this authentic voice and style, even in this non-traditional format, and now I’m currently writing my third book in the series of five.

Only two bookstores in Minnesota carry the Greenland Diaries. The Source and NHCC Bookstore. I keep it that way because it costs a lot of money to get these books made, and well I’m hopeful that a traditional publisher will see my success and give me a chance. Doing it myself means I have limited resources. My family has been helpful with me in this regard, but even they’re not an infinite system of financial support. Blogging and writing online has been so helpful. I can get my work out there at the cost of nothing, and still make it sure it is a certain level of quality. This is after all the mindset I had when I started The Greenland Diaries, so it can’t be all that bad.

If you’re interested in purchasing paperback copies of the Greenland Diaries: Days 1 – 100, or the sequel Days 101 – 140, or the collection of short stories, please click here to be taken to my online store. You can get two paperbacks for $25 right now with free shipping. It is an excellent deal.

Thank you everyone for your continued support.

2 thoughts on “The Greenland Diaries

Leave a Reply

