Beneath the Chains

Instead of posting another entry of Chains this week, I thought I would give a little bit of exposition about the story and its inspirations. First off, Chains is a serialized story which I publish every single week. The installments of the story run between 500 and a 1000 words. Sometimes, if there is a critical scene, it’ll run a bit longer so I can get all the good details.

The backstory behind the plot of Chains is simple. Frigga, a city on the border of Jotunheim, (the world of giants) and Midgard (the world of humans) has lost contact with the rest of civilization for the last month. Nobody has travelled there from any city, nor has any town received any travelers from Frigga. Two famous bounty hunters from a nearby city are sent to investigate the silence of Frigga. What they find will not only change their opinion of the purpose of gods and giants, but of themselves as well. Also, as their investigation unfolds, the Fimbul Winter has begun around them, which means Ragnarok, the battle between giants and gods is imminent. The end of the world is only a matter of time. Wolves, feral giants, witches, and mysterious red figure are just a few of the plot spikes these hunters deal with in the twilight of the gods.

If you haven’t read Chains yet, you can find it here. Also, if you are looking for a specific part:  Chains: Part One – The Black EndsChains: Part Two – UgabaChains: Part Three – FriggaChains: Part Four – The Red FigureChains: Part Five – The Iron CitadelChains: Part Six – FrakaChains: Part Seven – The Feral. Chains: Part Eight – Lantern Light. Chains: Part Nine – Between Nightmares.

There are a couple of things that inspired me to write this story. One was my love for the Norse Mythology setting. I would never try to tell a grandiose tale in this universe. However, a smaller fiction weaved through this enchanting world of fate and war would be perfect for my voice, so I picked an isolated scenario where I could sprinkle in larger plot devices. A video game motivated me to pursue this narrative structure when I was in high school. It was called Valkyrie Profile, where you played the role of a Valkyrie recruiting heroes to hang in Valhalla until Ragnarok hit. The story worked small in a big setting, something I know my interest and voice could work with.

It may not sound very empowering, but knowing your limitations with writing can sometimes lead you to great things.

When I started writing Chains, I was just coming out of a serious, five-year relationship with a woman. I was in the typical post-breakup quagmire of emotions and memories, and I kept thinking about goals we wanted for our future when we were together. In the dust and fire of our breakup, I blamed a ton of stuff on her. Four years later, and I now realize that I was at fault for many of our problems. I was selfish and unpredictable with my feelings. When it came time to discuss children and being parents, she was adamant about not bringing anyone into this world. I thought this was because of her own rough upbringing, and the pain she endured in her childhood. It was much more complicated than that though, so to find a possible answer I decided to inject this personal conflict into Chains. The bounty hunters are lovers in the story, and they too face questions about procreation and responsibility. Against the backdrop of fictional Norse mythology, the nonfiction human connections appear so much more lucid. This is the gift of fantasy, science fiction, and horror. They can reflect humanity so easily.

So please check out Chains. It is a great story, and it won’t be ending anytime soon. Thank you for reading. Have a great day!

One thought on “Beneath the Chains

Leave a Reply

