Monday Musings 10/17

Back to reality after an excellent convention weekend. Back to numbers with random ideas hanging behind them like little lost shadows at a carnival. Back to typing quietly in a dark living room trying not to wake my children. Back to looking for answers for faceless fiends stalking my emotions like a lost Tasmanian Tiger. Back to taking out the trash, doing the dishes, and watching the sun bow down behind golden leaves, which have spotted tips like sharks in some faraway reef.

  1. I had an amazing time at Crypticon here in Minnesota. I always do. I started this convention four years ago. At the time, I just had one book out, which was Beware the Ills. I didn’t know a single person. I remember being so nervous my hands shook as I piled my books up on my table. Now, so far removed from that time and place, whenever I go to Crypticon I feel like I’m seeing family. People have been that supportive. It is an amazing feeling. I’m very blessed. If you’re looking for a friendly, supportive, and entertaining convention in the Twin Cities, I highly suggest Crypticon Minnesota. You don’t have to like horror to attend it. There are plenty of other genres represented. Give it a shot.
  2. Recently, I had an interview with the Daily Dead. You can read the interview by clicking here. It is pretty funny, I actually had to answer the questions while at Crypticon selling books this Friday. I completed them via email between customers on my phone. I could’ve just waited for a more appropriate environment or situation to answer this awesome publication. I think when you start doing panels, conventions, interviews, or even pursuing your dreams in a general sense, you realize there is no such thing as a perfect timing. I used to think I had to wait for the ideal opprotunity to appear in my life for me engage in writing. It would be like a beam of sunshine breaking through an ash crusted wasteland. However, there is no such thing as perfect timing in the creative industry. A thousand stories died in the back of my head before I was brave enough to listen to them.
  3. On Halloween, I will be releasing the Kindle version of my new book series DOL 39. It will only be available digitally. It might eventually spawn to a paperback format, but for now it’ll just be floating in the glowing pixel purgatory of Amazon. If you haven’t read DOL 39, well, you’re missing out on a fantastic monster and a truly unique storytelling perspective. Instead of writing chapter after chapter about this security force that keeps a godlike monster contained, I choose to focus my narrative voice on journal entries, work orders, maintenance logs, letters, and interviews. You are given this collection of documents to understand the story. You live through the perspectives of the people trying to keep the DOL contained. The suspense is insane. You can feel the desperation of the people trying to keep this devil in a box. More details will be coming soon about the release.
  4. I wonder how many people examine the pain in their lives. I know for me, I always try to accept the damage, and use it to motivate me. This doesn’t always happen. I try to hold onto the pain when the world becomes so confusing, dense, and overwhelming, I actually feel like I can’t get out of bed. I can’t even move. Pain can either inspire or numb. The pendulum swings and you try to grab it. It can be slippery or spiked. You can handle it. You can fumble it. The more you work with your pain, the more you realize that memory and hurt have their own sense of gravity, their own physical laws.
  5. I just want to say a big thank you to everyone who commented on No Face, which was featured by WordPress Discover. I’ll reply to all your comments someday soon. There are tons of them. I’m so lucky. They are all kind, understanding, and unique. It makes me feel like I’m not so alone when I read them. This gets me through the hard days. Thank you everyone for supporting me, and for giving my writing a chance. Please take care of yourselves this week. Thank you.
One thought on “Monday Musings 10/17

Leave a Reply

