Part One of My Reading Series at Robbin Gallery

gallery+interior_member+show_2010

On Thursday June 18th at 6:30 pm, my writer-in-residence will officially launch at the Robbin Art Gallery in Robbinsdale, Minnesota. If you’re in the area, please stop by and listen to me read. I’ll be starting my What the Basement Said material, which is nonfiction linked to my fiction. I’ll basically be giving a bunch of exposition from sad and happy parts of my life that inspired this monster-wild collection of fiction. Occasionally, I’ll publish some of these posts I’ve be reading on my What the Basement Said page. The content will always be new and original at these events, which will be taking place on the third Thursday of each month.

On June 18th, I’ll be reading about streetlights, excerpts from Seven Monsters, and talking about the birth of my twin boys Gren and Teaghan. This will be the first time I’ve done a reading since becoming a father, which I’m excited about. The reading will last about 45 minutes, and they’ll be time for Q & A along with signings after everything is done. I try to read things that are interesting and relevant to the audience. I have been to a plethora of reading events where the author just mumbles on like a broken puppet. These tend to be the most frustrating, because you can’t seem to stay awake. At my readings, I purposely pick material that I emotionally relate to, so I can actually perform it for my audience. If you’re not excited reading your own work, then you might have composed the wrong subject, or the muse has gone awry. The Robbin Gallery is a quaint and awesome little venue. You feel like you’re locked in a bit of history, but also a part of a bludgeoning artistic movement. Please come and enjoy this free event.

Thank you everyone for your support. I really appreciate it.

One thought on “Part One of My Reading Series at Robbin Gallery

Leave a Reply

