My Blog “Greenland Diaries” Hit 20,000 Views – by Patrick W. Marsh

Greenland Diaries Logo

After couple of rough years toiling over my apocalyptic horror narrative The Greenland Diaries, I’ve managed to scrap together over 20,000 views. I have to share these small accomplishments as they take place. Bragging or anything isn’t in my personality, maybe if it was this self-promotion aspect of modern writers would be easier for me. It isn’t, but what can you do, this is the age we live in as writers.

I’ve shared it before via my personal website, but The Greenland Diaries started with just a simple exercise in past-tense. I had been working at a bank for four years. Any writing I would do was between customers or on the weekends when I was just trying to relax from working a job I hated. So many people are in this situation in our society it’s numbing. I quit my job at the bank and went back to college at North Hennepin Community College. I realized I had not really written in past-tense in forever. So I created The Greenland Diaries, which are a collection of first-person diary accounts of young man trying to survive a monster-heavy apocalypse. When I first started The Greenland Diaries, I wanted to have some sort of progress. If it hadn’t been for my family and friends taking pity on my story with Facebook clicks and whatnot, it would never have accumulated any sort of following. To them I’m eternally grateful.

So this last week the 20,000 mark was hit. Thanks to Outramp.com and Sci Fi Signal my story has been running in serialization on a near weekly basis. I’m releasing the first 100 days of The Greenland Diaries in novel format. I’m self-publishing it through Createspace, and I’ll be putting it on Kindle. The novel version will have added content, including an introduction from me. Thank you everyone who has supported me with this project. It has taken a lot of work, but I do enjoy the story and setting. Thank you.

If you haven’t read The Greenland Diaries, you can check it out by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

