The Struggle for Creative Inertia

I’m the Executive Editor behind a Hodgepodge Literary Zine called Calamities Press. This project has been a lesson in management when it comes to creative minds. So far, I’ve decided there is at the very least one dominant type of creative person. They are the theoretical types, who tend to have ideas and theories, but no guts to make the body work. This is the most common personality trait among most budding artists and writers. They have an idea, and that is it. They lack the gears, oil, and physical force to make an engine work. Fear is the typical stoppage to this motor. Failure, rejection, and having to step outside of your comfort level. It’s brutal.

I have been this person the majority of my life. How I managed to escape this numbing character deficiency was publishing Beware the Ills, writing The Greenland Diaries, and attending half a dozen conventions in the Twin Cities. Physically, I was forced into a state of production with my book. I made myself get out there, and I’ve loved every moment of it. In a literary and saturated world, you have no choice but to make your presence known.

You could almost say there is a part two in the evolutionary stage of a creative mind. Once you outgrow the fear section, you enter what could be described as the Inertia Phase. You learn that once a creative project starts, it’s own internal energy will keep it motivated and alive, as long as you don’t disrupt the flow of force. Getting the object/idea to move is the trickiest part. You simply know that inertia must take place. Learning to apply force and allow inertia is one of the hardest pills to swallow as an artist. In our culture of temporary fixes and indulgences, the idea of permanence, even with your own creative endeavors, can be terrifying.

-Patrick W. Marsh

One thought on “The Struggle for Creative Inertia

  1. Wow, this totally describes me!! Awesome that you managed to overcome this and get your novel out there…if I make it past chapter 1 I will be pretty happy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

